Blackberry & Honey Loaf Cake

I wasn’t sure whether this would work or not, but thankfully it did. I’ve not added honey to a sponge mixture before, so was experimenting a little, but it paid off.  For this recipe I used some of last years blackberries from the freezer, to make room for our new pickings soon!  I think this cake would be particularly lovely warm with double cream!

Time to prepare: 15 minutes

Time to bake: approx 50 mins

What I used:

A basic all in one sponge mix as follows:

8 oz self raising flour

8 oz caster sugar

8 oz butter (as usual I use Stork)

4 large eggs

Plus I used:

2 large heaped tablespoons of clear honey

Blackberries (about a large cupful) – sorry didn’t measure!

What I did:

Pre-heated the oven to 180c

Firstly I mixed together all the ingredients for the all in one sponge in a large mixing bowl.  Then I added the blackberries and honey and stirred (don’t over stir!).

image

image

image

Then I poured the mixture in to a lined loaf tin and baked in the oven for  approx 50 mins.

I baked the cake in the oven at 180c but I think 170c may have worked, as its in the oven for a reasonably long time. Mine crisped on top and on the sides a bit, so could maybe have done with less time, but actually it added a nice sweet crunch.  I did cover the top with some baking paper, for the last 20 mins, as the outside was done but the middle still needed some time and I didn’t want to burn the top.

image

image

image

image

Let me know how you get on if you make this, so I can add more tips and tricks!

Jess x

Cuddle Fairy

 

3 thoughts on “Blackberry & Honey Loaf Cake

Leave a Reply

