Summer Raspberry Cake with Raspberry Frosting & sliced Strawberries

This is another basic sponge recipe with a lovely summery twist! By adding a few raspberries and strawberries this cake is the perfect summer dessert! Warning, though, it is super super sweet! But very delicious.

Preparation time: 15 mins
Baking time: 15-20 mins
Decoration time: 10 mins

What I used:

For the sponge:
4oz self raising flour
4oz butter (I used Stork)
4oz caster sugar
2 x eggs
Vanilla essence
Raspberries – about half a punnet or more

For the frosting:
3oz butter (I used stork)
6oz icing sugar
Vanilla essence
A few raspberries (I used 5)

To finish:
A few strawberries thinly sliced

What I did:

First of all I pre-heated the oven to 180c and greased and lined an 8 inch round cake tin.

I creamed the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Then I added the eggs one at a time and whisked them in until smooth. The flour was sifted and mixed in to the mixture and I added a teaspoon of vanilla essence. Finally the raspberries were mixed in. Don’t mix them in too much though, as they will desolve and I think it’s nice to still have some raspberry bits!

image

image

image

image

The cake mixture was spooned in to the cake tin (already prepped) and put in the oven to bake for approx 15-20 mins or until golden brown on top.

image

To make the frosting I mixed together the butter and icing sugar and added a drop of vanilla essence. I added about 5 raspberries and mixed them in. The frosting goes a lovely pink shade with lovely bits of raspberry running through.

image

To decorate and finish:

When the cake had cooled, I spread a thin layer of raspberry frosting on top of the cake. Then I thinly sliced some strawberries and arranged these on top of the frosting.

image

Gym Bunny Mummy
Cuddle Fairy
6 thoughts on “Summer Raspberry Cake with Raspberry Frosting & sliced Strawberries

Leave a Reply

