A Day in the Life of Mrs Puddleducky 

Tuesday 19th May

6am My alarm goes off, it’s time to get up!  Believe it or not I’m up and out of bed before the kids! I get in the shower (it’s non hair washing day today so it’s quicker!) I get dressed, today I’m wearing some black straight legged tailored trousers and flowery chiffon top from Next.  I’ve got a bit of walking to and from meetings today, so I’m wearing my ‘comfy’ high heels!

image

6.30am Whilst my hubby wakes my daughter up, I go downstairs and make my packed lunch. I get my daughter and I something to drink before we have to leave the house.  I have coffee and my daughter has warm milk.  I also give her a biscuit to see her through to breakfast, which she has at Nursery.

image

6.50am My daughter and I leave the house for our journey to work and nursery.  Well it’s actually 6.52 by the time the bags are in the car and my daughters strapped in her seat.  My sons still in bed asleep right now so I don’t get to see him before we leave.  As soon as we head off my daughter falls asleep so it’s a peaceful journey.

7.25am We arrive at the nursery.  I wake my daughter up and she awakes all happy and excited as soon as she realises where we are (she absolutely loves nursery!) I hand her over to one of the nursery ladies with her breakfast and give her a kiss goodbye.  She’s quite happy and smiles at me as I leave.

7.30am I leave nursery and head off for work.

7.35am I arrive at work and park right outside the building where’s there’s still spaces as its early.  I go to my office and the first thing I do is switch on my PC and go and make myself a cup of coffee.

image

7.40am – 8.30am this is when I normally have some quiet time to check emails, have my coffee and check my schedule for the day ahead.

8.25am I ring home to check all is ok and say good morning to my son.  He tells me he loves me and is looking forward to giving me a big huggle when I get home.

8.30am It’s my first meeting of the day with one of the Directors and it’s a pre-meet for an important meeting we have tomorrow.

9.25am I’m 15 minutes late for my next meeting which was at 9am as my first meeting over ran! We are meeting with one if the departments for a review.  It’s a very positive meeting and a great report all round.

10.50am I rush to my 11am meeting only to get there and find out it was actually supposed to be at 10.30am, so we have to rearrange. I’m really annoyed but it gives me some breathing space before my next meeting.

11.15pm – 1pm I make my excuses for the meeting at 12.30pm and send a deputy so I can crack on with some pieces of work in the office.  I take the opportunity to eat my lunch while I work.

image

1.15pm I have a quick catch up with one of my team and we discuss and type up some ideas.

1.30pm I have a meeting with finance.  We look over some very complex spreadsheets I can barely understand (!) and discuss some plans.

2.30pm My meeting with finance is cut short so I can fit in an urgent meeting with a Director and another member of staff.  We put some urgent plans in place and have a general catch up as its the first time I’ve seen them since returning to work.

3.30pm I finish some tasks I started earlier in the day and send an urgent email.  A colleague pops in to say hello.

4.20pm I log off my PC and wash up my coffee mug and leave my office for the day.

4.25pm I get in the car and drive down to the nursery to pick my daughter up.  She gives me the biggest smile when she sees me and the nursery ladies tell he about her day.  She’s been in the garden and enjoyed playing in the kitchen! We get in the car for our journey home.

4.35pm My daughter and I leave nursery and head home.  The traffic isn’t too bad and my daughter falls asleep again.

5.15pm We get home and the hubby is home starting to cook tea.

image

5.40pm I walk up the road to my sons school to pick him up. It’s about 5-10 mins walk from our house.  He’s been at after school club today.  He is so pleased to see me and runs up to me to show me his picture of a monkey!

image

6.15pm We all sit down to have tea together – one of my favourite times of day! it’s a yummy pasta dish tonight an all family favourite!

image

6.40pm We leave the dishes and all go upstairs and spend 30 mins or so having a play together, in our bedroom, before bath time.  Such a special time for me as I’ve not seen the kids all day.

image

7.10pm The kids get in the bath, a bit later than normal.  It’s hair washing night for them too, so it takes a bit longer.  My kids love their bath time together and have so much fun!

image

7.20pm The kids get out of the bath.  They always want to stay in longer as they love bath time! We get them in their PJ’s and they clean their teeth.  We all sit on mine and my hubby’s bed and they drink their warm milk and I read a story.

7.30pm The kids go to bed. My boy asks for another book to look through whilst he is in bed and we choose his favourite dinosaur book.

7.35pm I wash up the dishes and my hubby does the drying up.  I put a wash on and sweep and wash the kitchen floor.

8pm I sit down at last! With my iPad and a glass of wine. I watch Emmerdale on catch up whilst checking Twitter. I write up most of my day for this blog post in drafts. I spend the rest of the evening on Twitter and Instagram and reading blogs.

11pm I put the iPad down (at last) and go up to bed! By the time I have faffed around its nearly 11.30pm before my head hits the pillow.

 

You Baby Me Mummy

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

4 thoughts on “A Day in the Life of Mrs Puddleducky 

Leave a Reply

