My boy misses me

So me and the hubby have been wondering why our boy has suddenly been playing up. It’s honestly like living with a teenager not a nearly 5 year old! The attitude has been unbelievable and he answers back wanting the last word in every conversation. It’s really taken us by surprise as parents and we haven’t known how to deal with it. Tonight at the dinner table we just looked at each other in shock at the attitude coming at us from the other side of the dinner table. We have been lucky up to now as he’s been amazingly content and skipped the terrible twos all together. So I guess this is over due and I need to start watching super nanny again!

However, we may have turned a corner or at least a bend tonight.

My boy opened up to me. We were upstairs reading his school book, which was a struggle as always. ‘I don’t want to’ ‘I can’t’ with tears and trashing himself around on the bed. We managed two pages but that was better than nothing. Then in the bathroom whilst the bath was running, he suddenly threw his arms round me and said ‘I don’t want you to go to work anymore’. I asked him why not, and he said ‘because your gone a really long time and I miss you’. I explained to him I had to work to earn money so we can do nice things together. He threw me a bit so I didn’t know quite what to say. He then started to get all tearful and said ‘I want you here all day and all night and when I’m at school’. ‘Oh darling’ I said, and I held him tight and said ‘I love you so much’. We held each other for a long time and then I asked him if me being back at work was why he was being naughty and he looked at me and said ‘yes mummy’ and he flung his arms around me once more. He hugged me for a long time stroking my back and just kept saying ‘ please don’t go to work, I miss you’.

I’m a little bit of a broken mummy tonight…heart strings pulling tight…

My little monster...
My little monster…
Mummascribbles
4 thoughts on “My boy misses me

  1. Aaah bless him!!! Poor little love — what’s brought all that on?? Is there something else going on at school that’s making him unhappy? Because he’s be at school even if you were at home, I suppose, so he would still miss you…

    Crikey, we parents need a degree is psychology — as well as all the other strings we have to our bows — don’t we?!! :) I hope your little man cheers up very soon and mummy too xx
    Thanks so much for linking up with #TwinklyTuesday x

    Caro | http://www.thetwinklediaries.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my goodness I dread this day. Being a working mum is so hard anyway without having to deal with these things! I hope you are ok lovely – it would break my heart too. Thanks so much for linking up with #TwinklyTuesday

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

