Easy kids vegetable soup

image

This recipe is great for kids and for babies who are being weaned. Its so full of goodness and really healthy. You can use whatever vegetables you have in the cupboard so you don’t have to stick strictly to what I’ve used. I usually make up 1 batch as per this recipe which will Provide 2 meals for 2 children, or in my case 1 child and 1 baby!  There was also enough for me to have a small bowl on the second day!

Preparation time: 10 minutes
Cooking time: 20 minutes

What I used:

1 x onion
2 x carrots
1 x leek
1 x large potato
1 x sweet potato
1/2 carton of passata
Stock cube (I used chicken but any would do)
Approx 1 1/2 pints of boiled water
A little butter
Pepper to season

image

What I did:

Firstly I fried the onion in a little butter in a large sauce pan. Whilst the onion was softening I peeled the carrots, potato and sweet potato and cut these in to small chunks. I then added these to the sauce pan. Then I chopped the leek and added this and crumbled in the stock cube to the sauce pan. I gave it all a good stir and then poured in the boiled water. I used approx 1 1/2 pint but you basically need just enough to cover all the vegetables. Finally I added the passata and pepper. The heat was adjusted to a gentle simmer and this was left to cook for about 20 minutes. You can eat this soup puréed or left With the vegetables whole.  I like it half way in between so there’s still some texture but it’s puréed enough for baby to eat easily. So I blitzed mine for just long enough for some of the vegetables to still be intact.

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

