Banana and raisin cake

image

This is a lovely cake post christmas as not too fattening but still not 100% good either !! Great as a snack or as a pudding for adults and children alike. If you’ve got over ripe bananas to use up this is a perfect recipe. I measure everything in cups (I use a small coffee mug) as it doesn’t matter if you have a little more or less of something, it’s quicker and easier. You can chuck in extra after you’ve mixed it all up if necessary. I added more flour and raisins for example after I’d mixed this today.

Preparation time: 5-10 minutes
Cooking time 25-30 minutes

What I used:

2 x cups of flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 x cup raisins
3 x over ripe bananas
1 x egg
1/2 cup of milk
1/2 cup of butter or margarine
A heaped tsp of cinnamon (the more the better for me!)
1 x tsp of baking powder
A few drops of vanilla essence

image

What I did:

Set the oven to approx 170-180c. Lined a shallow baking tin with baking paper. I used a round one but any shape is ok. You could also use muffin cases to make individual cakes. I put all the ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Some people like to cream the sugar and butter first but I find it works just as well by using the all in one method and just chuck it all in. I mixed the ingredients together using a wooden spoon. Then I spooned the mixture in to the baking tin and pop in the oven for approx 30 minutes until golden and cooked through.

image

image

image

Gym Bunny Mummy
3 thoughts on “Banana and raisin cake

Leave a Reply

