Slow cooker chicken casserole

image

I’ve not used our slow cooker much and it’s kept at the back of a cupboard so often gets forgotten about. I really should use it more as it makes the most amazing stews and casseroles. They’re convenient as well, you can prepare everything first thing and leave it to cook all day whilst your out or at work.

Preparation time: 15 minutes
Cooking time: 6 hours

image

What I used:

1 x pack chicken pieces
1 1/2 onions

4 x cloves garlic

4 x carrots
4 x potatoes
1/2 tin marrow fat peas
1/2 tin of garden peas
1 x cup of pearl barley (or lentils)
4 x bay leaves
1 x tbsp Rosemary
1 1/2 pints of chicken stock
Pepper to season

What I did:

I fried the chicken until brown and transferred this to the slow cooker. I fried off the onion and garlic, peeled and chopped the carrot and potatoes and added these to the onion and garlic. This was then all transferred into the slow cooker with the chicken. Then I added the pearl barley, peas, marrow fat peas,Rosemary, bay leaves and stock straight to the slow cooker. I gave everything a good stir and added some pepper. The slow cooker was set for 6 hours on the high setting.

image

 

imageimage

image

When I got home at the end of the day the house smelt amazing. All I had to do was quickly steam some vegetables (we had broccoli and cabbage with ours)band serve. The meat was so tender I was able to mush it all up for my 8 month old. My boy eats all his meat when it’s cooked like this in a casserole or stew so great for children and babies alike.

Leave a Reply

