Leftover Turkey Pie (not pretty but yum)

Like everyone I’ve been thinking of ways to use up all the Christmas turkey leftovers but probably getting fed up with eating it in truth! However this recipes a classic post turkey mop up. It’s so simple and uses up all the turkey, gravy and stuffing left over from Christmas Day. I use ready made, ready rolled pastry for convenience and it’s as tasty as any I’ve made myself. I use puff pastry but you could use short crust.

image

Preparation time: 10-15 minutes
Cooking time: 30 mins in the oven at 200c

What I used:

2 x onions
4 x cloves of garlic (crushed)
Lots of leftover turkey (white and brown meat)
Leftover stuffing (balls or broken in to chunks)
Leftover turkey gravy (which was made from goblet stock on Christmas Day)
Ready made/ready rolled puff pastry (2 x large sheets)
A little Giblet stock
Someboiled water

What I did:

I started by frying off the onions and garlic with some olive oil in a wok. I use the wok a lot for cooking. Then I added the turkey (white and brown) and stuffing with a little flour and stirred. Then I poured in theleftover gravy and added a small amount of boiled water and a few spoons of giblet stock. I let this all simmer for about 5-10 minutes. Then I lined a pie dish with the first roll of puff pastry and poured in the turkey mixture. Lastly I covered the mixture with the second roll of puff pastry. To finish I used a folk to seal the edges, brushed the top with milk and made a cross slit in the middle. Now I’m not a pretty cook so it looked a bit ‘rustic’ but this dish is so full of flavour I don’t think it matters! The pie was cooked in a fan heated oven for 30 minutes at 200c. You know it’s done when the tops golden and the inside is all bubbly.

image

image

image

 

image

 

image

I served the pie with the last of the veg brought for Christmas dinner, sprouts, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower and some new potatoes. You may also need some extra gravy to moisten, I used oxo chicken gravy granules.

All in all this is a very easy wholesome dish with the added bonus of using up everything left over from Christmas dinner. You could also use this recipe for left over roast chicken so not just good for Christmas!

Leave a Reply

