Easy Christmas turkey curry

I’ve made this before with chicken and it’s really so simple and something the whole family can enjoy. I make it with no salt and only a small amount of curry powder so suitable for little ones.

What I used:

left over Christmas turkey ( white and brown meat)

Turkey stock (made on Christmas day)

2 x onions

1 x yellow pepper

4 x garlic cloves

grated ginger

curry powder

Ground turmeric

Ground cumin

gara masala

Options:

Tinned tomatoes or fresh tomatoes
Coconut milk instead of yogurt
Carrots instead of butternut squash

To accompany:

Boiled rice, Naan bread, popperdoms,  mango chutney
image

 

What I did:

Fried the onions, pepper, garlic, ginger, and all spices in olive oil in a wok for about 3 minutes until onions and pepper are softened. I used a heaped tea spoon of each spice. But only a half a tea spoon of curry powder, but more can be added if necessary. I keep it pretty mild for the kids. Then I added the turkey stock with a little extra boiled water as it was quite rich and the turkey meat. I diced the butternut squash and chucked that in and finally added the yogurt.

 

image

 

Whilst the curry was cooking I put some rice on to boil and cooked some extra diced butternut squash (with sweet potato) for baby.

 

image

 

Simples!!

Leave a Reply

